At Last! Creative

At Last is a small company who design and make bespoke coffee table books and photo albums. I joined them in February 2018, and worked with them for a few months. Although I wasn’t there for long, I believe I learnt a lot in that space of time. I learnt how to organise photos in Mac’s ‘Photos’ application; I learnt more about InDesign and its features and shortcuts. I also learnt much more about editing photos in Photoshop; including how to restore old, damaged photographs.

When I started, they had recently started doing a few new things for their clients – one of these things was a coffee table book for younger people, which included coloured backgrounds and different borders and layouts. I designed their example book for them to show clients.

They had also started doing children’s art books – in which we scanned and edited children’s artwork to put together in one big colourful book for them. I also designed their example Children’s Art Book. Below are some images of some of the things that At Last make – and a couple of things which I personally designed. Whilst there, I also designed a 200-page year book for a high-end client – but due to confidentiality this can’t be shown.

AtLast4

This is a photo of At Last at a fair, in which they are showcasing all their work.

AtLast1

I designed the book that is open in the bottom left corner. It is a photo book of the owner’s holiday to Tulum in Mexico.

AtLast2

The open book at the bottom is another spread from the Tulum book – it shows all the colourful Mescal and Tequila bottles at a bar in Tulum.

AtLast3

This is an example of a scanned and edited version of children’s artwork that I did for the example book to show clients.

Leave a comment