Animation

For my final project at university, we had to write our own brief. We could do literally anything we wanted. I found this quite hard, as I never had a sort of ‘niche’ to my work – I’ve always been quite broad in my concepts and materials. However, there were certain things I’ve researched and experimented with during the last couple of years – synaesthesia as a topic (specifically Cromesthesia, sound-visual synaesthesia), and stop motion animation. I wanted to explore at least one of these things. So at first, I decided to experiment with some paper shapes, making a short stop-motion to one of my favourite songs.

I then discovered that I had a piece of software on my laptop called Cinema4D, so I played around with that. There is a function on it called ‘equaliser’ in which you can create shapes that move according to the frequency of a sound – you can choose how to shapes move. Here is my attempt

I decided not to develop it further, as I couldn’t manipulate the shapes how I wanted.

Leave a comment